South O!

Last Sunday the fam and I made a brief visit to South Omaha. Not only did we get to Czech out the little festival going on, we also ate some delicious Mexican food.  South Omaha has always been a place for immigrants.  Brent’s Czech and Polish roots all come from South Omaha. Now when you drive around you see a mostly Latino grocerias y tiendas.  Although there is the occasional abandoned store front with some Eastern European name on it (I assume Czech).  I love love love South Omaha.  I was lucky enough to live in this area when I first moved to Omaha.  I ate lots of food from taco trucks and thoroughly enjoyed the margaritas.  It has become more of a little village over the years. It’s so colorful (as in lots of pink and green paint) and I love how many people are out and about shopping with their families.  I love to go there because I totally feel like a tourist.  Anyway, we started off our little visit by going to this little Czech festival held in an old gymnasium (if you look closely you can see these sweet gymnast paintings that were hung on the walls).  There were lots of men in vests, accordions, and kolache.

We played a pop toss game. Brent lost but I won. Instead of taking the soda I opted for a mini Kit-Kat. Brent later informed me he was disappointed because he wanted some cheap root beer.  Then we played a dime toss game, which is basically trying to throw a dime into a glass. If you get the dime in the glass, you get to keep that particular glass. Brent won two low-ball glasses and I won a champagne flute. I was personally very excited about the champagne flute because every time we drink champagne I break one of the glasses…I think we were down to only one flute at home.  We cake-walked twice and on the way out I won a cake.  We also got to meet one of the Czech-Slovak Queens and we saw how sauerkraut was made (yuck). It was really great.

Because Brent did not want to eat the Czech food (I am secretly quite happy about this), we decided to eat Mexican food.  We went to my favorite place on 24th Street, El Alamo.  Brent and I both used to frequent this place in our younger days. I have so many memories of this place.   I had the pollo en mole with a Pacifico, Brent had the enchiladas rancheros and a margarita, and Edith just had some salsa (we just put it straight in her bottle).  If you live in Omaha and have never been, I highly recommend it…it’s on 24th Street near N, right next to the Mexican Pottery store (which is also really awesome and cheap if you have never been, go!). If you haven’t been down to South 24th Street in a while or ever…make sure you go visit sometime.  There are so many restaurants, bakeries, and stores.  In the summer there are men walking around selling the most amazing popsicles which taste like ice cream on a stick….so delicious!

3 thoughts on “South O!

  1. Chelsey, what a fun day you must have had. Where was this festival with all the authentic costumes and accordians galore? Only one I have ever heard of was at Assumption Church and it’s usually in May. I had forgotten how much you loved South Omaha. That was grandma’s old stomping grounds as she grew up very nearby.

Leave a Reply

