Scottsbluff National Monument and Wildcat Hills State Park

I am so far behind in posting  about our Western Nebraska trip.  I was busy celebrating my baby’s 1st birthday. Woo Hoo!

After visiting Chimney Rock, on our way to Crawford, Nebraska, we stopped at Scotts Bluff National Monument.  I was completely blown away by this place.  Apparently it’s not nice to say “it looks nothing like Nebraska” because those who live in this area take offense to that….since it IS Nebraska.  I will say that it is not what people think of when they think of flat Nebraska.

The Oregon Trail also passed through this little area called “Mitchell Pass”.  We walked along the trail and saw a few oxen and covered wagons along the way.

Because this is a National Park, it was very well taken care of.  There is a great road you can  take through tunnels in the bluffs to reach great views. You can also hike through tunnels to the top, but as you know, we had a baby in tow.  The day was clear, sunny, and beautiful.  I think  we all agreed it was one of our favorite stops on our vacation.

Scotts Bluff was a great way to start the morning off.  It was just getting hot so we decided to go a few miles away to Wildcat Hills State Recreation Area. We looked around in the visitors center at all the “wild cats” on display then went out for a hike.  As we were heading out, a woman stopped us and asked if we were going hiking.  We nodded and she simply said, “watch out for snakes”.  Gee thanks, lady.  The whole time we were hiking I was looking around me for snakes and cougars.  I don’t think I took full advantage of the beautiful scenery because I was on guard.  Luckily, I found a stick to carry with me in case we were attacked.

 

After plenty of hiking for the day we hopped in the car with Edith’s new friend, Pete the Sandhill Crane, and headed to the Crawford/Ft. Robinson Area.  Stay tuned for more.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Scottsbluff National Monument and Wildcat Hills State Park

  1. Pingback: Chelsey Erpelding: Scottsbluff National Monument and Wildcat Hills State Park | Nebraska Passport '14

Leave a Reply

