Bozeman, Montana

I recently embarked on my first vacation without my child! Huge accomplishment, right? Anyways, I visited my childhood best friend, Hayden (going on 19 years of friendship) in Bozeman, Montana. I was only there for three days but we packed our days full and had a blast! My first day we walked around the Bozeman downtown and ate, drank, and shopped. Of course you get to do this while being surrounded by mountains on all sides! For a small town, it had amazing food and drinks and really cute boutiques. Hayden lived near the downtown in a converted large house/small mansion. The yards in her neighborhood were filled with really cool vegetable gardens and many of the houses looked like they were super energy efficient.

Montana-ritas! Huckleberry!

Montana-ritas! Huckleberry!


I am so insanely jealous of this garden!

I am so insanely jealous of this garden!

After bopping around Bozeman, we headed out on the open road to a hot springs called Chico Hot Springs. This may have been my favorite part of the trip. Basically this was an outdoor pool that was fed by hot springs. The large pool side was lukewarm and then there was a smaller hot side. It felt to me like I was taking a bath outdoors while looking up at mountains. It was incredible. The drive out was pretty great too, saw lots of animals including alpacas (which I was made fun of for because I knew that they were not llamas). After Chico we headed into Livingston, Montana for a dinner filled with wine, beef, veggies, and the most delicious cheeses at a place called Second Street Bistro. The town was as cute as could be too!

Post-Chico bathing

Post-Chico bathing


No alpacas here, but it is still amazing!

No alpacas here, but it is still amazing!


Livingston, MT

Livingston, MT


Cuteness never stops!

Cuteness never stops!

The second day was laid back, and rather chilly. While Omaha was boiling at about 90 with 90% humidity, Saturday in Bozeman was a cool 50-60 with occasional rain. Hayden and I were pretty lazy for the most part but we did go on a hike up some hills near her house while the sun was shining. We climbed the path, admiring the views of the mountains and the storms in said mountains. Not long after we reached the high point of the trail, it dropped about 20 degrees, clouded up, and the rain started. We made our way down the hill much quicker than our way up.

Clouds and Mountains

Clouds and Mountains


It's important to have a giant bloody mary while hiking.

It’s important to have a giant bloody mary while hiking.


More clouds

More clouds


Storm!

Storm!

Sunday, I woke up and walked around downtown Bozeman before Hayden woke up. I grabbed a crappy cup of coffee and wandered around. There wasn’t much open but the sky was clear and the air was the warmest it had been my whole trip. A short time later, we headed out for white water rafting on the Gallatin River. I complained the entire time before we started because I was scared, and let’s face it, I didn’t enjoy being in a cold wetsuit in 70 degree weather. We went, I survived, and moments were fun. Our guide was hilarious, and everyone sensed my fear and kept talking about how I was going to fall off the raft. Luckily, I did not fall into the icy waters. It was not on my bucket list, but if it was I could check it off and not have to worry about doing it again.

Hotel Baxter

Hotel Baxter


And then Hayden turned into a moose.

And then Hayden turned into a moose.

My trip was fast and fun. I enjoyed getting a break from my darling toddler and had a blast with my best friend. I know I could have done so much more, but I only had so much time. Maybe next time we will go to Yellowstone and see the Old Faithful and make our way up to Big Sky. I was glad to get home to the balmy weather and to feel like I was wrapped in a cozy blanket, thank you Nebraska summertime.

Pretty Montana Flower. First person to identify wins a cookie.

Pretty Montana Flower. First person to identify wins a cookie.

ANGRY RANT: My flights were delayed in Denver for my flight to Bozeman and back home to Omaha. I spent a total of 13 hours in the stupid Denver airport. It made me somewhat homicidal. I complained to Frontier and they didn’t care. I hate them. I think they stink and I never want to fly with them again. So since they didn’t care, I am going to complain on my blog. Justice will never be served.

2 thoughts on “Bozeman, Montana

Leave a Reply

