The Henry Doorly Zoo- Winter Edition

A couple of cold Sundays ago my husband sprung it on me that he had promised our daughter we could go to the Henry Doorly Zoo after our daughter’s nap. Normally I would be all for a zoo trip, but this day it was about 15 degrees outside and we would only have 2 hours to get to and explore the zoo. Being the good wife that I am, I decided to roll with the punches.

Snow snow cold.

Snow snow cold.

Due to it being a very very cold day, we tried to stay near the entrance of the zoo and only went to three of the indoor exhibits. There were only a few other families there braving the cold, and it was a little spooky to be so alone. Of course, not fighting a crowd had many benefits too: We could stay in front of any exhibit as long as we wanted to, we were able to get up close and check out the penguins, and for once I wasn’t constantly worried about losing my toddler in a sea of people. I did get a little spooked when we went to the Kingdom of the Night exhibit. It’s in the basement of another exhibit and it’s VERY dark and swampy. There are bats, snakes, beavers, and alligators. It’s creepy normally, but being the only people down there made it ten times scarier. Luckily we made it out alive, not having been eaten by the elusive albino alligator.

Not a great photo, but you get the idea of the penguins.

Not a great photo, but you get the idea of the penguins.

The jungle was warm and humid unlike the outdoors that awaited us.

The jungle was warm and humid unlike the outdoors that awaited us.

As a rule I hate the winter, but yet some of my favorite memories take place in the dead of winter. I am guessing that due to your body being numb, your brain is able to focus on the memory instead of your other senses getting in the way. It’s hard to not sound cheesy about it but it was pretty magical to be at the zoo with practically just my husband and daughter. Even though I froze my nose off, I must give mad props to my husband for suggesting it.

Happy Freezing Family

Happy Freezing Family

3 thoughts on “The Henry Doorly Zoo- Winter Edition

Leave a Reply

