Long Beach

Bette Lou

Bette Lou


My dear little baby Bette was born in April and since then life has been nuts. Having two kids is hard work. My friend Christine says it makes you a gangster at life. I don’t really feel like a gangster yet, or at least not a successful one. Maybe one who continues to fail at all of her drug deal and keeps shooting the wrong people. Needless to say I have been losing my mind. So in May I took a very impromptu trip to Long Beach, CA with my husband and newborn. My husband was going there for work and the prospect of being home alone with two kids, outnumbered, scared the crap out of me. So two days before he left, we bought a ticket for me. Our oldest stayed back with the grandparents. I guess you could call it a babymoon, post-baby.
Just a month old. Her first hotel stay/vacation/plane ride.

Just a month old. Her first hotel stay/vacation/plane ride.


I think back on this trip and it’s a dreamy time. We were able to lie in bed with our baby, take naps, and stroll around a very strange but beautiful city. Long Beach is not a very glamorous destination, but the architecture is beautiful, there are palm trees, and there is one very large boat parked there called the Queen Mary.
Handsome guy with a stroller

Handsome guy with a stroller


Art-Deco!

Art-Deco!


Another beaut!

Another beaut!


lb2
It was a blessing in disguise that there was not a lot to do in Long Beach (without the help of car), so we did not do much other than go to the Queen Mary. We spent one full day there walking around an enormous art-deco boat. I took Bette to the pool for the first time. One of my best friends also came down from LA to see us. It was a great time.
The Queen Mary

The Queen Mary


Queen Mary Bar

Queen Mary Bar


Another  shot of the bar

Another shot of the bar

2 thoughts on “Long Beach

  1. The gangster analogy is hilarious. In 20 years from now you’ll be astonished at much better you did then you realized now/at the time. Plus, you’re beautiful and put together. I can’t even do that single! ( I’m sitting on the couch with no pants on and food stains on my t shirt right now) Love you

Leave a Reply

